How To Reset Chrome Web Browser?

January 22, 2020 - (Freeware)

If Google Chrome isn’t behaving properly, or you’ve installed an annoying add-on you don’t want (like a third-party toolbar, for example), an easy solution may be to reset the browser to its original settings.

You can also encounter a situation like this if you install a problematic browser extension, or if you accidentally configure your settings in a way that makes your browser behaving strangely.

The good news is that if you reset Chrome, you won’t lose any of your search histories, saved bookmarks, or passwords. Here are the things that will change after the reset:

  • The default search engine changes back to Google.
  • All extensions will be disabled.
  • Your tabs will be closed, and your homepage will become the New tab page.
  • pinned tabs are closed.
  • preferences and settings are reset to their defaults.
  • cookies are deleted, so you’ll be logged out of all websites.

In this tutorial, we’ll show you 2 ways to reset your Google Chrome settings and data to default without reinstall.

Method 1: Reset Chrome to default from Chrome settings

This will reset your homepage, new tab pages, and search engine, disable your extensions and unpin all tabs. It will also clear other temporary and cached data, such as cookies, content and site data. However, your saved bookmarks and passwords will not be cleared or changed.

  1. Open your Chrome browser, and then click the More icon (with three lines or dots) in the upper-right corner and select Settings.
  2. Chrome’s Settings should now be displayed in a new tab. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on the Show advanced settings link.
  3. Scroll down to the Reset settings section, as shown in the screenshot below. Click on the Reset settings button.
  4. A pop-up window will come up and ask for confirmation of the restoration process.
  5. Once you click Reset, you will get clean and default Google Chrome.

Method 2: Reset Chrome to default by deleting the user profile

Another way of resetting Chrome to default settings is to delete your Chrome profile. This will completely reset all Chrome settings to default and delete your browser profiles, themes, extensions, bookmarks, history, cache, passwords, cookies, and web form auto-fill information. Here’s how:

  1. Open your Chrome browser, and then click the More icon (with three lines or dots) in the upper-right corner and select Settings.
  2. In the People section of the Settings page, select your current profile and click the Remove button underneath. After deleting, Chrome will automatically set up a new profile with default settings.
  3. All of your chrome user data, bookmarks, history, cookies and cache will be cleared, and you will get fresh Google Chrome running on your computer.

You can now close the Settings tab and begin using your browser again. If your issues are now resolved, you can start enabling your extensions one-by-one to see if one of them was causing the unwanted behavior. If you are thinking to synchronize the Chrome browser with your primary Gmail account, but unfortunately your other account linked than you can easily delete your  Gmail Account.   

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *